UK approved programme
European Mutual Recognition (EMR)

Download application forms and guidance notes
Physiotherapists - European Professional Card (EPC)
English proficiency
Assessing your application
Adaptation periods and aptitude tests
Verification checks - information for competent authorities, professional bodies and education providers
Paying your fees
Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974
Changes to Directive2005/36/EC

Appeals process
Student information
How we use your personal data
Home > Apply > European Mutual Recognition (EMR)

European Mutual Recognition (EMR)

What are European Mutual Recognition (EMR) rights?

The mutual recognition of professional qualifications is governed by Directive 2005/36/EC. That Directive is given effect in the UK by the European Communities (Recognition of Professional Qualifications) Regulations 2015. The Directive promotes the free movement in the EU, and in the context of the professions which we regulate it aids the establishment process.

If you have EMR rights, we will assist you in the registration process either by confirming comparability of your qualifications to the standards of proficiency required for practice in the UK, or by explaining what further training/education is required in order to meet these standards. The latter are known as compensation measures. Only those with EMR rights may benefit from this arrangement – you may find more about it by clicking here.

Who has European mutual recognition (EMR) rights?

To qualify for European Mutual Recognition an applicant must:

  • be a citizen of a ‘relevant European State’ (an EEA Member State or Switzerland) or be an exempt person who is treated as such a national (eg by marriage to such a citizen);
  • be fully qualified to practise a relevant profession in a relevant European State (other than the UK) and, if the profession is not regulated in that State, to have practised there for at least one out of the last ten years;
  • have qualified in a relevant European state or hold qualifications obtained outside of the EEA or Switzerland which have been recognised in a relevant European State. If the latter, then the applicant must also have practised the profession in that State for at least three years.

If you think you have EMR rights, you need to complete the European Mutual Recognition application form. Our registration advisors will check all your details and confirm whether you have provided sufficient evidence of your mutual recognition status.

Below is the list the relevant European states:

  • AT - Austria
  • BE - Belgium
  • BG - Bulgaria
  • CH - Switzerland
  • CY - Cyprus
  • CZ - Czech Republic
  • DE - Germany
  • DK - Denmark
  • EE - Estonia
  • EL - Greece
  • ES - Spain
  • FI - Finland
  • FR - France
  • HR - Croatia
  • HU - Hungary
  • IE - Ireland
  • IS - Iceland
  • IT - Italy
  • LI - Liechtenstein
  • LT - Lithuania
  • LU - Luxembourg
  • LV - Latvia
  • MT - Malta
  • NL - Netherlands
  • NO - Norway
  • PL - Poland
  • PT - Portugal
  • RO - Romania
  • SE - Sweden
  • SI - Slovenia
  • SK - Slovakia

Useful links

UK NCP is the National Contact Point for professional qualifications for the UK. You can access their website here.

The European Commission website provides information on Directive 2005/36/EC.

Contact details

Tel: 44 (0)300 500 4472
Fax: 44 (0)20 7840 9801

If you are contacting us from outside the UK and are unable to use our main switchboard number, you can call us on 44 (0)20 7582 5460.

Print  Print page